Sign in with your NHL account:
  • Submit
  • Or
  • Sign in with Google

Mighty Ducks Rookie Tournament History

Friday, 09.02.2005 / 12:00 AM / News
Anaheim Ducks
Share with your Friends

Mighty Ducks Rookie Tournament History
On September 13th, 2004, the Mighty Ducks rookies posted a 7-2 win over the Los Angeles Kings rookies. It was the first championship win for the young Ducks in the second annual rookie tournament, this one hosted by the Mighty Ducks of Anaheim.

Rookie teams from Anaheim, Los Angeles, Phoenix and San Jose competed for the second time in this four-team tournament. Ducks rookie Curtis Glencross posted a hat trick and an assist to up his tournament-leading point total to 6-2=8, while Dustin Penner, Andrew Gibbons, Tim Brent and Ryan Getzlaf also scored for the Ducks. Getzlaf added a pair of assists to lead the tournament with six. Anaheim goaltender Gabriel Bouthillette racked up 24 saves as five Mighty Ducks earned multiple-point contests to help Anaheim post their initial tournament title.

The Mighty Ducks lost a 3-2 overtime decision to the Los Angeles Kings on the first night of the tournament. Joel Perrault and Curtis Glencross scored for Anaheim. San Jose defeated Phoenix, 4-1 in the other first night action.

On Friday, September 10th, the Mighty Ducks posted an impressive 6-2 victory over the San Jose Sharks. Curtis Glencross scored two goals and Ryan Getzlaf added four assists in the win. The Ducks also got goals from Igor Pohanka, Joel Perrault, Corey Perry and Shane O’ Brien with goaltender Gabriel Bouthillette stopping 30-of-32 shots. In the other contest that night, The Kings rookies defeated the Coyotes rookies, 11-2.

Following a day of practice, the four teams returned to the ice for Sunday afternoon games. Anaheim lost a 4-2 decision to Phoenix and the San Jose-Los Angeles contest ended in a 3-3 tie.  Anaheim rookies Joel Stepp and Corey Perry each scored a goal.

It was on to the final night of the tournament. In the consolation game, Phoenix downed San Jose 3-2, despite being out shot 43-17. After dropping their first two games of the Rookie Tournament by a combined score of 15-3, the Coyotes won their final two contests by a combined score of 7-4.

The Mighty Ducks of Anaheim claimed the championship of the Second Annual Pacific Division Round Robin Tournament with the 7-2 win over Los Angeles.

The first rookie event was played in El Segundo, California in September of 2003. Phoenix defeated Los Angeles 3-1 in the championship game. Randall Gelech, who helped seal the victory with an empty net goal with just 44 seconds remaining in that game, led the Coyotes offensively. He led Phoenix in scoring with 2 goals and 4 assists for 6 points in the four contests.

Anaheim lost a 3-1 decision to Los Angeles in the first night of play. Joffrey Lupul scored the only goal for the Mighty Ducks. Phoenix shut out San Jose 1-0 in the opening game of the tourney.

During the second evening of action, The Kings rookies downed the Sharks rookies, 5-0. Anaheim lost a close 3-2 game to Phoenix. The Mighty Ducks played a strong third period and just missed tying the game up with ten seconds to play on a wrist shot by Ryan Getzlaf which hit the post.

On Sunday afternoon, the Ducks and Sharks opened up the afternoon followed by the Kings-Coyotes match-up. In the opener, a high scoring affair went to the Mighty Ducks, 6-4. Ryan Getzlaf and Joel Perrault scored twice. Joffrey Lupul and Tim Brent added goals as the Ducks rookies fought from behind after San Jose had taken a 1-0 lead after the first period.

In the third place contest on Monday night, San Jose downed Anaheim 4-2. Lanny Gare and Igor Pohanka tallied for the Mighty Ducks. San Jose had taken a 3-0 advantage heading into the third period of the consolation game.

Joffrey Lupul paced the Mighty Ducks in the tournament with 3 goals and 1 assist for 4 points. Pierre Parenteau added 4 assists in four games for the Ducks.

Rookies from all four teams will make their way to San Jose for the third annual Rookie Tournament from Wednesday, September 7th to Sunday, September 11th. You can follow the Mighty Ducks rookies throughout the five-day, four-game event right here on the Mighty Ducks of Anaheim website.




1 ANA 47 31 10 6 139 124 68
2 NSH 45 30 10 5 137 104 65
3 STL 46 29 13 4 148 111 62
4 CHI 47 30 15 2 148 108 62
5 WPG 48 26 14 8 135 117 60
6 SJS 48 25 17 6 131 132 56
7 VAN 45 26 16 3 124 114 55
8 CGY 47 25 19 3 136 125 53
9 LAK 47 20 15 12 129 126 52
10 COL 48 20 18 10 125 137 50
11 DAL 46 21 18 7 144 151 49
12 MIN 46 20 20 6 128 137 46
13 ARI 46 16 25 5 105 156 37
14 EDM 47 12 26 9 109 158 33


R. Getzlaf 46 15 35 12 50
C. Perry 32 19 12 15 31
R. Kesler 47 13 17 -2 30
S. Vatanen 47 10 19 3 29
M. Beleskey 46 17 7 12 24
C. Fowler 46 5 18 4 23
P. Maroon 39 4 18 1 22
H. Lindholm 46 5 14 13 19
J. Silfverberg 47 6 12 2 18
D. Smith-Pelly 41 4 11 5 15
J. Gibson 2 2 0 .927 2.28
F. Andersen 26 6 5 .917 2.30 is the official Web site of the Anaheim Ducks. Anaheim Ducks and are trademarks of Anaheim Ducks Hockey Club, LLC. NHL, the NHL Shield, the word mark and image of the Stanley Cup and NHL Conference logos are registered trademarks of the National Hockey League. All NHL logos and marks and NHL team logos and marks as well as all other proprietary materials depicted herein are the property of the NHL and the respective NHL teams and may not be reproduced without the prior written consent of NHL Enterprises, L.P. Copyright © 1999-2015 Anaheim Ducks Hockey Club, LLC and the National Hockey League. All Rights Reserved.

Privacy Policy     Contact Us    Jobs     Honda Center    Corporate Partnerships   Terms of Use   NHL TicketExchange  Site Map AdChoices