• RSS

Burke Honored with Lester Patrick Award

Thursday, 08.7.2008 / 9:42 AM PT / News
Share with your Friends

Burke Honored with Lester Patrick Award

Ducks Executive Vice President/General Manager Brian Burke today was named a recipient of the 2008 Lester Patrick Award for outstanding service to hockey in the United States. Burke joins Ted Lindsay, Phil Housley and Bob Naegele as the Class of 2008, which will be honored at the Lester Patrick Awards Luncheon on Oct. 22 in Minnesota. Further details of the event, including ticket information, will be announced at a later date. 

“I am extremely honored, proud and grateful to receive the 2008 Lester Patrick Award,” said Burke. “To be named a recipient in a group that includes Ted Lindsay, Phil Housley and Bob Naegele makes this even more special.” 

Over the past two decades, Burke has made numerous significant contributions to hockey in the United States. On June 6, 2008, Burke was named General Manager of the 2010 U.S. Olympic Hockey Team by USA Hockey. His previous international experience includes serving as General Manager of the U.S. Men’s National Team at the 1993 International Ice Hockey Federation Men’s World Championship in Munich and Dortmund, Germany.

Ranked as the NHL’s No. 1 General Manager in The Hockey News’ Annual GM Rankings (March 2008), Burke led the Ducks to a Stanley Cup championship in 2007, the first-ever by a California-based club. In addition, Burke was a finalist for The Hockey News “Executive of the Year” in 2006 and was named the Sporting News “Executive of the Year” in 2001. He was also a runner-up for the same Sporting News honor following the 2005-06 season. 

Since Burke was named to the Anaheim post on June 20, 2005, no NHL team has enjoyed more success than the Ducks. In just three seasons, the Ducks have captured their first Stanley Cup (2007), first Pacific Division title (2007) and first two 100+ point seasons (2006-07 & 2007-08). The club has qualified for the playoffs all three years, winning six-of-eight playoff series over that span. Only the Detroit Red Wings have matched the Ducks success over that stretch, having also won six-of-eight postseason series. The Ducks and their AHL affiliate have played in 14 combined playoff rounds over the last three campaigns, the most of any NHL/AHL organization.

Born in New England and raised in Minnesota, Burke played hockey at Providence College (1973-77) and with the AHL Maine Mariners (1977-78) before returning to the classroom to obtain his degree from Harvard Law School (1981). After practicing law in Boston for the next six years as a player representative, Burke began his NHL career in 1987 when he joined the Vancouver Canucks as Vice President and Director of Hockey Operations. He left Vancouver in 1992 to become General Manager of the Hartford Whalers before being named NHL Senior Vice President and Director of Hockey Operations (1993-98). Prior to joining the Ducks, Burke was President and General Manager of the Vancouver Canucks from 1998-2004. Between Anaheim and Vancouver, Burke’s teams have qualified for the Stanley Cup Playoffs in seven consecutive seasons beginning in 2001-02.


The Lester Patrick Trophy is an annual award presented for outstanding service to hockey in the United States. Eligible recipients of the Lester Patrick award are players, officials, coaches, executives, and referees. The winner is selected by an award committee consisting of the President of the NHL, an NHL Governor, a representative of the New York Rangers, a member of the Hockey Hall of Fame Builder's section, a member of the Hockey Hall of Fame Player's section, a member of the U. S. Hockey Hall of Fame, a member of the NHL Broadcasters' Association and a member of the Professional Hockey Writers' Association. Except for the League President, each member is rotated annually. The winners receive a miniature of the trophy.

The Patrick Trophy was presented by the New York Rangers in 1966 to honor the late Lester Patrick. Patrick was a longtime general manager and coach of the Rangers, whose teams finished out of the playoffs only once in his first 16 years with the club.

Ducks Executive Vice President and General Manager Brian Burke spoke to reporters Thursday afternoon via conference call. Following is a transcript:

On being named a recipient of the 2008 Lester Patrick Award,
Gary Bettman called me about a week ago and told me I was one of the recipients and I would have assumed it was a practical joke when I heard the other recipients except it was Gary Bettman. To me, it’s such a wonderful honor when you’re put into a press release with those three guys. I was amazed. This is an award that I’ve known about for a long time. When I worked at the league I got to see guys receive it. I was there when some of the people I really respect in hockey received this award. I realized how important it was to our game and what a great honor it would be to receive it. I think these terms are overused in sports, but I was flattered. I’m grateful for it. I’m not sure I deserve it, but I’m touched by it and I think it’s wonderful.

I remember watching Harry Sinden receive the award and how touch he was by it. The reverence and awe with which he thanked the committee, it was clear it was a massive deal to him, not a big deal, a massive deal. Look at the list of people who have won it. It’s a big deal. It’s a great honor. I remember thinking it would be so cool if some day I could ever win an award like that. To get it is really awesome. For our organization, with Max McNab having been a past recipient this is special for us too.

On the ceremony being held in Minnesota on October 22,
Three of the four recipients, not Mr. Lindsay, but the other three recipients are all Minnesota guys. I was born in Rhode Island, but I grew up in Minnesota. They are going to have the luncheon in St. Paul, Minneapolis or in the Twin Cities somewhere on October 22. That’s when you receive it. The league’s had it New York several of the times I went. It was in Boston when Harry Sinden received it. It moves around a bit. It’s not typically in Minnesota. With three of us being from there, that’s an appropriate place.




1 z - DAL 82 50 23 9 267 230 109
2 x - STL 82 49 24 9 224 201 107
3 x - CHI 82 47 26 9 235 209 103
4 y - ANA 82 46 25 11 218 192 103
5 x - LAK 82 48 28 6 225 195 102
6 x - SJS 82 46 30 6 241 210 98
7 x - NSH 82 41 27 14 228 215 96
8 x - MIN 82 38 33 11 216 206 87
9 COL 82 39 39 4 216 240 82
10 ARI 82 35 39 8 209 245 78
11 WPG 82 35 39 8 215 239 78
12 CGY 82 35 40 7 231 260 77
13 VAN 82 31 38 13 191 243 75
14 EDM 82 31 43 8 203 245 70


R. Getzlaf 77 13 50 14 63
C. Perry 82 34 28 2 62
R. Kesler 79 21 32 5 53
R. Rakell 72 20 23 -1 43
J. Silfverberg 82 20 19 8 39
S. Vatanen 71 9 29 8 38
A. Cogliano 82 9 23 2 32
H. Lindholm 80 10 18 7 28
C. Fowler 69 5 23 -8 28
C. Stewart 56 8 12 2 20
F. Andersen 22 9 7 .919 2.30
J. Gibson 21 13 4 .920 2.07

AnaheimDucks.com is the official Web site of the Anaheim Ducks. Anaheim Ducks and AnaheimDucks.com are trademarks of Anaheim Ducks Hockey Club, LLC. NHL, the NHL Shield, the word mark and image of the Stanley Cup and NHL Conference logos are registered trademarks of the National Hockey League. All NHL logos and marks and NHL team logos and marks as well as all other proprietary materials depicted herein are the property of the NHL and the respective NHL teams and may not be reproduced without the prior written consent of NHL Enterprises, L.P. Copyright © 1999-2016 Anaheim Ducks Hockey Club, LLC and the National Hockey League. All Rights Reserved.

Privacy Policy     Contact Us    Jobs     Honda Center    Corporate Partnerships   Terms of Use   NHL TicketExchange  Site Map AdChoices