Sign in with your NHL account:
  • Submit
  • Or
  • Sign in with Google

Team Black Edges Team White in Inaugural Skills Showdown

Saturday, 01.08.2011 / 5:11 PM / News
Share with your Friends

Team Black Edges Team White in Inaugural Skills Showdown
George Parros provided one of the highlights of the event when he went 4 for 4 in the Shooting Accuracy challenge. 
By Adam Brady

ANAHEIM – Captain Teemu Selanne’s Team Black edged Todd Marchant’s Team White, 14-12 in the inaugural Skills Showdown in front of an enthusiastic crowd of approximately 6,000 Saturday afternoon at Honda Center.

Following a practice in the Ducks’ home rink in front of season tickets holders, doors were opened to the general public for the Skills Showdown, in which Ducks players were split into teams selected by the two captains. Each team also had five youth players, who led off each of the six skills challenges and were counted in the scoring.

The challenges included Breakaway Relay, Power Play, Control Relay, Fastest Skater, Shooting Accuracy and Hardest Shot. Captains Selanne and Marchant picked their teams and chose which players would take part in each challenge.

Photo Gallery | Video

One of the highlights of the event came during the Shooting Accuracy challenge, which George Parros – not normally known for his shot – won with a perfect 4-for-4 performance. Parros nailed the last Styrofoam target in one of the top corners with a wrist shot, drawing a loud roar from the crowd before he was mobbed by his Team White mates.

“There was not one doubt in my mind about winning this,” Parros said with a smirk. “I told [Corey] Perry that I was going to beat him to a hat trick [this season] and I didn’t, so I knew I had to beat him to this one.” (Perry went 4 for 5 in the competition, while Teemu Selanne and Bobby Ryan each went 4 for 6.)

“I’ve had some success with this in the past, but I’ve never pulled off a 4-for-4,” Parros said. “So I’m pretty pleased. I’ve set the bar kind of high.”

Paul Mara had the top mark in the Hardest Shot competition, clocking 100.7 mph
Nineteen-year-old rookie Cam Fowler blazed around the Honda Center rink to capture the Fastest Skater competition with a time of 13.945, just edging Dan Sexton’s 14,011.  A noticeably heavy-breathing Fowler was interviewed immediately after, saying he was winded because, “Todd Marchant made me do all the skating challenges.”

Said Fowler after the event, “The guys put up some good times, but It’s always fun to be able to win one. It’s definitely an honor. I was happy.”

Of Sexton, he added, “These times can be deceiving sometimes. He’s still probably one of the fastest guys on the team.”

Paul Mara helped Team Black’s cause by winning the Hardest Shot with a top mark among his two tries of 100.7 mph, narrowly beating fellow defenseman Andy Sutton (99.89) and Luca Sbisa (99.5).

“I haven’t really measured that in about 8 or 10 years,” said the veteran Mara. “Andy Sutton and I had a little side bet there and he sawed my stick behind my back. But it didn’t break, so maybe it helped me.

Captain Teemu Selanne was awarded a ceramic pig for his Team Black's victory.
“I knew there were a few guys on the team who shoot pretty hard – Sutton, Beleskey and others. But my shot was able to hold up.”
The Breakaway Relay involved players trying one-on-one moves with Ducks goalies Jonas Hiller and Curtis McElhinney, with none of the trio of shooters getting more than one goal in the time allotted. The Power Play involved three skaters vs. one defenseman and a goalie, with all four threesomes getting two goals apiece in their 1-minute window.

Parros was pleased with the enthusiasm of the crowd. “I loved it,” he said. “They’re always pretty vocal and there was an entertaining couple of minutes there for me personally, so thank you, fans.”

Added Mara, “It was a lot of fun. It’s always fun for the fans to see us compete against each other. It was nice to see such a good turnout.”

Team Black Team White
Teemu Selanne (Captain) Todd Marchant (Captain)
Matt Beleskey Andy Sutton
Andreas Lilja Bobby Ryan
Corey Perry Brandon McMillan
Lubomir Visnovsky Cam Fowler
Maxim Lapierre George Parros
Paul Mara Joffrey Lupul
Kyle Chipchura Saku Koivu
Dan Sexton Sheldon Brookbank
Luca Sbisa Toni Lydman
Aaron Voros Jason Blake
Jonas Hiller Curtis McElhinney

Youth Players

Youth Players
Collin Hardy Brad Hardy
Alex Catanzariti McKenna Webster
Cameron York Taylor Urch
Andrew Urch Junior Delgado
Nikki Langley Jordan Eisenmann




1 z - ANA 82 54 20 8 266 209 116
2 y - COL 82 52 22 8 250 220 112
3 x - STL 82 52 23 7 248 191 111
4 x - SJS 82 51 22 9 249 200 111
5 x - CHI 82 46 21 15 267 220 107
6 x - LAK 82 46 28 8 206 174 100
7 x - MIN 82 43 27 12 207 206 98
8 x - DAL 82 40 31 11 235 228 91
9 PHX 82 37 30 15 216 231 89
10 NSH 82 38 32 12 216 242 88
11 WPG 82 37 35 10 227 237 84
12 VAN 82 36 35 11 196 223 83
13 CGY 82 35 40 7 209 241 77
14 EDM 82 29 44 9 203 270 67


R. Getzlaf 77 31 56 28 87
C. Perry 81 43 39 32 82
N. Bonino 77 22 27 14 49
M. Perreault 69 18 25 13 43
A. Cogliano 82 21 21 13 42
C. Fowler 70 6 30 15 36
K. Palmieri 71 14 17 9 31
D. Winnik 76 6 24 6 30
H. Lindholm 78 6 24 29 30
S. Koivu 65 11 18 3 29
F. Andersen 20 5 0 .923 2.29
J. Hiller 29 13 7 .911 2.48 is the official Web site of the Anaheim Ducks. Anaheim Ducks and are trademarks of Anaheim Ducks Hockey Club, LLC. NHL, the NHL Shield, the word mark and image of the Stanley Cup and NHL Conference logos are registered trademarks of the National Hockey League. All NHL logos and marks and NHL team logos and marks as well as all other proprietary materials depicted herein are the property of the NHL and the respective NHL teams and may not be reproduced without the prior written consent of NHL Enterprises, L.P. Copyright © 1999-2013 Anaheim Ducks Hockey Club, LLC and the National Hockey League. All Rights Reserved.

Privacy Policy     Contact Us    Jobs     Honda Center    Corporate Partnerships   Terms of Use   Site Map AdChoices