• RSS

Getzlaf, Murray Finalists at the 2014 NHL Awards in Las Vegas

Tuesday, 06.24.2014 / 9:42 AM PT / News
Share with your Friends

Getzlaf, Murray Finalists at the 2014 NHL Awards in Las Vegas
Ducks captain Ryan Getzlaf and Executive Vice President/General Manager Bob Murray are nominees at the 2014 NHL Awards from Encore Theater at Wynn Las Vegas on Tuesday, June 24 (4 p.m. PT, NBCSN, CBC).

Getzlaf is a finalist in three categories, including the 2013-14 Hart Memorial Trophy, awarded annually “to the player adjudged to be the most valuable to his team.” In addition, Getzlaf is a finalist for the 2013-14 Ted Lindsay Award and 2013-14 Mark Messier Leadership Award presented by Bridgestone.

Getzlaf, 28 (5/10/85), is the fourth player in Ducks history to be named a finalist for the Hart Memorial Trophy, joining Corey Perry in 2010-11, Teemu Selanne in 1997-98 (finished third in voting) and Paul Kariya in 1996-97 (second in voting). Only seven other players from California-based teams have been Hart Trophy finalists in the history of the NHL. Of those seven, three have won the award (Perry in 2010-11, Gretzky in 1988-89 with Los Angeles and Joe Thornton in 2005-06 with San Jose). Pittsburgh's Sidney Crosby and Philadelphia’s Claude Giroux are also finalists for the award.

Getzlaf also joins Crosby and Giroux as the three nominees for the 2013-14 Ted Lindsay Award, presented annually to the “Most Outstanding Player” in the NHL as voted by fellow members of the NHLPA. Getzlaf is the second Ducks player in the last four seasons to be named a finalist for the award, joining Perry in 2010-11. Getzlaf is looking to become the first Ducks player to receive the “Most Outstanding Player” award.

Getzlaf's outstanding work on and off the ice has made him a finalist for the 2013-14 Mark Messier NHL Leadership Award presented by Bridgestone. The Mark Messier NHL Leadership Award presented by Bridgestone has been awarded since 2006-07 and is given “to the player who exemplifies great leadership qualities to his team, on and off the ice during the regular season.” The selection of the three finalists (also Los Angeles' Dustin Brown and Chicago's Jonathan Toews) and the ultimate winner is made by Mark Messier, a six-time Stanley Cup champion and one of three players to have captained three NHL teams (Edmonton, New York Rangers, Vancouver).

Leading Anaheim to a club-record 54-20-8 mark in 2013-14, Getzlaf was also active in the Orange County community. Getzlaf and Perry launched the club’s Anaheim Ducks Learn to Play powered by Ryan Getzlaf & Corey Perry last September. The two stars committed to join instructional sessions and purchase Bauer equipment for skaters (to keep) who sign up for a hockey program within THE RINKS Development Program presented by Honda. In addition to Learn to Play, Getzlaf hosted the third annual Getzlaf Golf Shootout last September at the Monarch Beach Golf Links in Dana Point, benefiting CureDuchenne. A nonprofit based in Newport Beach, CureDuchenne raises awareness and funds research for Duchenne muscular dystrophy. Duchenne is a progressive muscle-wasting disease that impacts one in every 3,500 boys.

Murray is a finalist for the 2013-14 NHL General Manager of the Year Award, marking the second consecutive season he has been nominated for the honor. Murray joins Dean Lombardi of the Los Angeles Kings and Marc Bergevin of the Montreal Canadiens as the three finalists for the top GM award this season.

Voting for this award was conducted among the 30 club general managers and a panel of NHL executives, print and broadcast media at the conclusion of the Second Round of the 2014 Stanley Cup Playoffs.

Over the past several years, Murray has revamped the majority of the Ducks roster and expanded the club’s prospect pool. Earlier this year, the Ducks were selected as The Hockey News’ No. 1 team in Future Watch 2014, which grades the prospects and player development of all 30 NHL teams. Of the top 100 prospects named in Future Watch 2014, the Ducks have three in the top 30 and four overall. Anaheim held the No. 2 spot in Future Watch 2013.

Under Murray’s guidance, the Ducks have won the last two Pacific Division titles, the first time the Ducks have won the division in consecutive years. The 2013-14 club finished with a record of 54-20-8, the best mark in club history. Anaheim finished with the top record in the Western Conference for the first time in franchise history and set season records for standings points (116), wins (54) and win/points percentage (.707), while also leading the league in goals (263) for the first time in club history. Murray was also a finalist for NHL General Manager of the Year in 2012-13, when the Ducks finished the regular season with the third-best record in the NHL (30-12-6, second in the West) and best win/points percentage in club history (.688, surpassed this year).

Murray signed a four-year contract extension with the Ducks on May 19, 2014 and is now under contract through the 2019-20 season. He is in his 39th consecutive season in the National Hockey League, his sixth in his current role with the Ducks. He was named to the position on Nov. 12, 2008 after spending the previous three-plus seasons as the club’s Senior Vice President of Hockey Operations.




1 z - DAL 82 50 23 9 267 230 109
2 x - STL 82 49 24 9 224 201 107
3 x - CHI 82 47 26 9 235 209 103
4 y - ANA 82 46 25 11 218 192 103
5 x - LAK 82 48 28 6 225 195 102
6 x - SJS 82 46 30 6 241 210 98
7 x - NSH 82 41 27 14 228 215 96
8 x - MIN 82 38 33 11 216 206 87
9 COL 82 39 39 4 216 240 82
10 ARI 82 35 39 8 209 245 78
11 WPG 82 35 39 8 215 239 78
12 CGY 82 35 40 7 231 260 77
13 VAN 82 31 38 13 191 243 75
14 EDM 82 31 43 8 203 245 70


R. Getzlaf 77 13 50 14 63
C. Perry 82 34 28 2 62
R. Kesler 79 21 32 5 53
R. Rakell 72 20 23 -1 43
J. Silfverberg 82 20 19 8 39
S. Vatanen 71 9 29 8 38
A. Cogliano 82 9 23 2 32
H. Lindholm 80 10 18 7 28
C. Fowler 69 5 23 -8 28
C. Stewart 56 8 12 2 20
F. Andersen 22 9 7 .919 2.30
J. Gibson 21 13 4 .920 2.07

AnaheimDucks.com is the official Web site of the Anaheim Ducks. Anaheim Ducks and AnaheimDucks.com are trademarks of Anaheim Ducks Hockey Club, LLC. NHL, the NHL Shield, the word mark and image of the Stanley Cup and NHL Conference logos are registered trademarks of the National Hockey League. All NHL logos and marks and NHL team logos and marks as well as all other proprietary materials depicted herein are the property of the NHL and the respective NHL teams and may not be reproduced without the prior written consent of NHL Enterprises, L.P. Copyright © 1999-2016 Anaheim Ducks Hockey Club, LLC and the National Hockey League. All Rights Reserved.

Privacy Policy     Contact Us    Jobs     Honda Center    Corporate Partnerships   Terms of Use   NHL TicketExchange  Site Map AdChoices