Sbisa Scores to Complete the Comeback in 2-1 Victory over Minnesota

Associated Press | Tuesday, 03.12.2013 / 10:53 PM

ST. PAUL, Minn. -- Luca Sbisa's wrister from the point with 3:04 remaining lifted the Anaheim Ducks to a 2-1 road victory over the Minnesota Wild on Tuesday at Xcel Energy Center.

The victory was Anaheim's 19th overall, eighth on the road and fourth in a row. It also marked the seventh consecutive victory for the Ducks when they give up the first goal.

After Wild goaltender Niklas Backstrom stopped a close-in shot by Teemu Selanne, the rebound drifted back to Sbisa deep in the slot, and he rifled his first goal of the season past Backstrom.

The Wild got on the board late in the first period when Devin Setoguchi's snap shot from the left dot snuck through Jonas Hiller's five-hole for his sixth goal of the season. The power-play goal marked the fifth straight game Minnesota scored with the man advantage.

Minnesota had several chances to extend that lead in the second, including a five-minute power play after Anaheim's Corey Perry hit Jason Zucker with an elbow to the head. Perry was assessed a major and a game misconduct, but the Wild's power play sputtered for much of the ensuing five minutes.

The Ducks, trailing by one despite losing the shots-on-goal battle 22-7 through 40 minutes, struck for the equalizer early in the third with a rebound goal by Patrick Maroon. After a point shot by Toni Lydman sailed wide of Backstrom, Maroon stuffed the puck, which had bounced back in front off the end boards, into an open net for his second of the season.

The Ducks nearly took the lead five minutes later on a shot by Bobby Ryan from the left dot, but Backstrom made a diving, sprawling save to keep the game tied.

Minnesota appeared to take a 1-0 lead 2:27 into the contest, capitalizing on a great shift by its fourth line. Torrey Mitchell gained control of the puck and flipped a backhand shot over Hiller's shoulder and off the crossbar. The horn sounded, the music started and the crowd cheered, but after a review in Toronto, the puck was ruled to have not crossed all the way over the goal line.

Hiller stopped 30 shots, including 14 in the second period, to improve to 9-2-2. The Ducks are 10-2-1 this season when allowing the first goal of the game.

Scoring Summary
1st Period
18:00MIN PPG - Devin Setoguchi (6) ASST: Matt Cullen (12), Tom Gilbert (6) 1 - 0 MIN
2nd Period
3rd Period
03:06ANA Patrick Maroon (2) ASST: Toni Lydman (4), Brandon McMillan (1) 1 - 1 Tie
16:56ANA Luca Sbisa (1) ASST: Teemu Selanne (12), Daniel Winnik (7) 2 - 1 ANA
Three Stars of the Game
Jonas Hiller
Jonas Hiller
SA: 31TOI: 60:00
GA: 1EV: 19-19
PIM: 0PP: 11-12
SV%: .968SH: 0-0
Matt Cullen
Matt Cullen
G: 0Shots: 2
A: 1Hits: 0
PTS: 1PIM: 0
+/-: 0TOI: 16:08
Zenon Konopka
Zenon Konopka
G: 0Shots: 0
A: 0Hits: 2
PTS: 0PIM: 5
+/-: -1TOI: 8:22
Penalty Summary
1st Period
02:55MIN Mikko Koivu  Tripping against  Luca Sbisa
09:08ANA Brandon McMillan  Charging against  Cal Clutterbuck
09:38ANA Saku Koivu  Hooking against  Ryan Suter
14:08MIN Zenon Konopka  Fighting (maj) against  Patrick Maroon
14:08ANA Patrick Maroon  Fighting (maj) against  Zenon Konopka
16:15ANA Luca Sbisa  Hi-sticking against  Devin Setoguchi
2nd Period
00:45ANA Ryan Getzlaf  Hooking against  Zach Parise
04:21ANA Corey Perry  Game misconduct against  Jason Zucker
04:21ANA Corey Perry  Interference (maj) against  Jason Zucker
3rd Period
09:23MIN Kyle Brodziak  Interference against  Brandon McMillan
14:34ANA Bryan Allen  Unsportsmanlike conduct against  Mike Rupp
14:34MIN Mike Rupp  Unsportsmanlike conduct against  Bryan Allen
18:50MIN Ryan Suter  Slashing against  Andrew Cogliano
shots by period
Team Stats
Power Plays0/31/5
Faceoff Wins2336
Blocked Shots2611
Penalty Minutes3013
4C. FowlerD0002019:39
5L. SbisaD1011219:28
7A. CoglianoL0013017:19
8T. SelanneR0112015:58
9B. RyanR0002018:04
10C. PerryR0000156:45
11S. KoivuC0002217:47
15R. GetzlafC0000220:38
23F. BeaucheminD0001024:26
32T. LydmanD0121017:14
34D. WinnikL0112019:31
39M. BeleskeyL0001011:35
44S. SourayD0000021:23
55B. AllenD0010217:56
62P. MaroonL101157:20
64B. McMillanL011028:07
65E. EtemR0010011:06
74P. HollandC0003011:03
1J. Hiller3031.96860:00
4C. StonerD0001020:41
7M. CullenC0102016:08
9M. KoivuC0003222:07
10D. SetoguchiR1003014:46
11Z. PariseL0003021:37
15D. HeatleyL00-12019:10
16J. ZuckerL000004:12
17T. MitchellC00-12011:26
20R. SuterD00-10226:15
21K. BrodziakC00-13219:52
22C. ClutterbuckR00-13011:16
25J. BrodinD0000021:43
27M. RuppL00-12211:34
28Z. KonopkaC00-1058:22
44J. FalkD00-2109:59
46J. SpurgeonD0005024:59
63C. CoyleC0001015:08
77T. GilbertD01-10014:13
32N. Backstrom1921.90559:22