Sign in with your NHL account:
  • Submit
  • Or
  • Sign in with Google
Anaheim
Ducks
54-20-8
Ottawa
Senators
37-31-14

28 SOG
27 SOG
1st2nd3rdT
ANA
OTT
  • Preview
  • Watch
  • Ice Tracker
  • Boxscore
  • Recap
  • photos (25)
game preview

Ducks Look to Rebound in Ottawa

Friday, 10.25.2013 / 11:06 AM
Share with your Friends


Ducks Look to Rebound in Ottawa
Anaheim Ducks vs. Ottawa Senators

DUCKS (7-3-0) at SENATORS (4-3-2)

TV: NHLN-US, PRIME, SNET-E, TVA

Season series: Anaheim and Ottawa conclude a two-game season series tonight at Canadian Tire Centre. These two teams last met on Oct. 13 at Honda Center, a 4-1 Anaheim win. In that game, the Ducks set a franchise record with 56 shots on goal, including a club-best 24 in the first period. Captain Ryan Getzlaf scored the game-winning goal, while Corey Perry notched his 34th career multi-goal game in the victory.

The Ducks are 13-7-4 against the Senators all-time, including a 6-4-1 mark in Ottawa. In addition, Anaheim has won three straight over Ottawa dating to a 2-1 shootout win on Jan. 18, 2011 at the then-Scotiabank Centre. Since defeating the Senators to win the Stanley Cup in Game 5 of the Stanley Cup Final on June 6, 2007, the Ducks have posted a 5-0-1 record vs. the Senators. Anaheim has won a franchise-best three straight in Ottawa dating to 4-3 shootout win on Jan. 19, 2006. Leading the Ducks in all-time scoring against Ottawa is Saku Koivu, who has earned 9-28=37 points in 60 career games.

Big story: The Anaheim Ducks (7-3-0) continue a season-long eight-game, 15-day road trip against the Ottawa Senators at Canadian Tire Centre. The Ducks have won seven of their last nine games and outscored their opposition, 31-21 (shootout goals not included) in that span. Overall, Anaheim's 32 goals through the first 10 games matches the club record originally set in 2012-13.

Anaheim leads the NHL in 5-on-5 scoring, scoring 26 goals in even-strength situations. In addition, the Ducks' 32 goals overall rank sixth among NHL teams this season, while the club also ranks seventh in goals-per-game average (3.20). Tonight's game concludes the second of 14 sets of back-to-back games this season. The Ducks are 2-1-0 in back-to back games this year, having swept their first set with wins on Oct. 5 at Minnesota (4-3 OT) and Oct. 6 at Winnipeg (3-2).

Tonight also marks the return to Ottawa for Ducks winger Jakob Silfverberg, who was acquired by Anaheim in July for Bobby Ryan. Silfverberg was Ottawa's 39th overall pick in the 2009 NHL Entry Draft. In his rookie season with the Sens (2012-13), Silfverberg recorded 10-9=19 points with a +9 rating in 48 games, and was one of six Ottawa players to play the entire season and one of two skaters to record a shorthanded goal.

Team Scope:

Ducks: After a seven-game winning streak fashioned mostly at home, Anaheim will try to avoid leaving a three-game visit to Canada without a victory. A 4-1 loss to the Montreal Canadiens on Thursday followed a 4-2 loss to the Toronto Maple Leafs two nights earlier.

The Ducks trailed 3-0 midway through the second period against Montreal, causing coach Bruce Boudreau to play forwards Ryan Getzlaf and Corey Perry (each minus-2) on different lines.

"They weren't very good together so I thought we might get a little bit more oomph out of them if we split them up because they were getting outplayed, simple as that," Boudreau said. "Every time they were on the ice we were in our zone."

The Ducks have five more road games ahead before next playing at home Nov. 6.

Senators: Ottawa's self-esteem is growing, helped by a 6-1 win against the Detroit Red Wings and former captain Daniel Alfredsson on Wednesday. The improved play comes just in time; the next two games are against the San Jose Sharks and Chicago Blackhawks.

"It gives you confidence; it gives the group belief that we can play with some of the big teams, and when we play right and when we do things right we have a good hockey club as well," Spezza said of defeating the Red Wings. "It's one game; they've probably got much better than they showed us [Wednesday], but for us, we can use it as a bit of a springboard and play three of the best teams in the League this week. If we can follow that one up with some good showings here it'll definitely go a long way for us confidence-wise."

Goalie Craig Anderson allowed two goals on the Ducks' first nine shots in the first meeting before Robin Lehner replaced him 4:06 into the game. Coach Paul MacLean said Anderson will start, but not to make amends.

"Not really; I think it's more the way I thought he played well, he's the No. 1 goalie," MacLean said of Anderson's 31-save performance against Detroit. "The schedule right now is we have a day between games so we have an opportunity to get him in the net and get him playing, and he's playing well. That's really the only consideration we gave to it."

Who's hot: Ducks center Mathieu Perreault has four points in his past five games. … Spezza has eight points in the past four games; defenseman Erik Karlsson has six in the same time. Forward Clarke MacArthur and defenseman Joe Corvo each has a three-game point streak.

Injury report: Ducks forward Dustin Penner (upper body) is out. Forward Matt Beleskey (thumb), defenseman Luca Sbisa (ankle) and goalie Viktor Fasth (lower body) are on injured reserve. … The Senators report no injuries. Defenseman Chris Phillips (maintenance) did not practice Thursday.

2013-2014 season series
DateScoreW. Goal
Oct 25 '13ANA 2 at OTT 1R. Getzlaf
Oct 13 '13OTT 1 at ANA 4R. Getzlaf
PlayerGPGAP+/-PIMPPGW
C. Perry115611+51411
R. Getzlaf114711+4903
M. Perreault11459+3401
J. Silfverberg11437+5600
N. Bonino11426+5410
T. Selanne9336+1011
P. Maroon8224+51500
D. Penner6224+8200
A. Cogliano11134+1800
D. Winnik11134-1800
S. Koivu11213-1200
E. Etem8123+3001
B. Allen11033+61500
S. Vatanen11033+1600
C. Fowler11033-2200
K. Palmieri9112+0400
F. Beauchemin11022+91100
H. Lindholm9022+10400
B. Lovejoy10011+1400
M. Fistric3011+0600
D. Smith-Pelly2011+1000
M. Beleskey2000-1900
GoalieGPRec.GASAGAASv%
J. Hiller74-2-0171902.64.911
V. Fasth32-1-010813.33.877
F. Andersen22-0-01510.60.980
PlayerGPGAP+/-PIMPPGW
J. Spezza97310-3821
B. Ryan10639+2830
E. Karlsson10268-3401
K. Turris10178+3800
M. Michalek10246-4400
C. MacArthur10055+6800
P. Wiercioch8055+2200
C. Phillips10044+1400
J. Corvo5044+4000
J. Cowen10213+41200
Z. Smith10213+2801
C. Greening10033-1600
E. Condra10033-2200
C. Conacher10202+5401
M. Zibanejad2112+1010
M. Methot10022-3800
C. Neil10101+01700
E. Gryba7101+3600
J. Pageau7101-1200
M. Kassian5000+1000
S. Da Costa4000+1200
D. Grant3000+1000
GoalieGPRec.GASAGAASv%
C. Anderson84-2-2182572.51.930
R. Lehner30-2-071172.41.940

AnaheimDucks.com is the official Web site of the Anaheim Ducks. Anaheim Ducks and AnaheimDucks.com are trademarks of Anaheim Ducks Hockey Club, LLC. NHL, the NHL Shield, the word mark and image of the Stanley Cup and NHL Conference logos are registered trademarks of the National Hockey League. All NHL logos and marks and NHL team logos and marks as well as all other proprietary materials depicted herein are the property of the NHL and the respective NHL teams and may not be reproduced without the prior written consent of NHL Enterprises, L.P. Copyright © 1999-2013 Anaheim Ducks Hockey Club, LLC and the National Hockey League. All Rights Reserved.